Quick Answer
The Traeger Silverton XL is a Costco-exclusive pellet grill (model TFS81BVH) that runs Traeger’s current D2 Direct Drive controller with WiFIRE app control, Super Smoke Mode, and a 20 lb hopper — but its own retailer listings can’t agree on basic specs. Costco’s product pages consistently list 854 sq in of cooking space, while Traeger’s own site for the same model lists 885 sq in. Pricing has ranged from $1,099 to $1,599.99 across 2026 depending on the source and promotion, and neither Costco nor Traeger publishes a clear warranty term for it anywhere in their listings. If you’re comparing it to Traeger’s retail lineup, use Costco’s 854 sq in figure and confirm the warranty directly with Traeger support before buying.
The Silverton XL, by the numbers
| Spec | Costco's listing | Traeger's own listing |
|---|---|---|
| Total cook space | 854 sq in | 885 sq in |
| Hopper | 20 lb | 20 lb |
| Controller | Ironwood D2, WiFIRE | D2 Controller, WiFIRE |
| Temp range | Low smoke up to 500°F | Up to 450°F |
| Warranty | Not stated | Not stated |
| Price seen in 2026 | $1,099-$1,399.99 | $1,599.99 (OOS) |
Two retailers, one grill, two different spec sheets
Traeger Silverton XL (Costco Exclusive)
- Costco's own listings for the Silverton XL (item 1741525 and the pellet-bundle version, item 2014731) both state 854 sq in of total cooking space — and a third-party Costco warehouse-price tracker independently confirms the same figure.
- Traeger's own product page for the identical model lists 885 sq in instead — a 31 sq in gap that isn't a rounding difference, it's a different number for the same SKU.
- Both sources agree on the features that matter day-to-day: Ironwood D2 Direct Drive controller, WiFIRE app connectivity, Super Smoke Mode, a 20 lb hopper, double-sidewall insulation, an included meat probe, and a pellet-level sensor.
- It ships with a grill cover, drip tray liners, and bucket liners included — a real value-add Costco bundles in that isn't standard on most retail-line Traeger grills.
Get your pellet grill fired up this weekend — try Amazon Prime free for 30 days so your rub, thermometer and butcher paper are waiting the moment the Silverton XL arrives — Costco’s version is online-only with delivery, so you won’t be driving it home from the warehouse.
Why the cook-space numbers don’t match
A single model shouldn’t have two different cooking-area figures depending on where you look, but that’s exactly what’s happening here. Costco’s 854 sq in figure appears consistently across both of its own product listings and an independent warehouse-price tracker, which makes it the more corroborated number. Traeger’s own site, which normally is this site’s go-to source for spec accuracy on its retail-line grills, lists 885 sq in for the same TFS81BVH model with no breakdown by rack to explain the difference. Until Traeger corrects one of the two listings, the safest approach is to treat 854 sq in as the number to plan around — it’s backed by more independent sources and it’s the figure on the page you’ll actually be buying from.
The warranty question nobody answers
Shop Traeger’s retail lineup and the warranty term is front and center — 10 years on the current Woodridge, Ironwood and Timberline grills, per our best Traeger grill guide. Shop the Silverton XL at Costco and that number simply isn’t there. Costco’s own page links out to a generic “Manufacturer’s Warranty Information” page rather than stating a term, and tells buyers to contact Costco’s Technical and Warranty Services directly. That’s a real contrast with Costco’s own listing for the Ridgeline XL — another Costco-exclusive Traeger model, covered in our pellet grill at Costco guide — which does clearly state a 7-year limited warranty on the same retailer’s site. There’s no evidence the Silverton XL shares that 7-year term; it could be longer, shorter, or identical, but neither company publishes the number. Call Traeger support with model TFS81BVH before you buy if warranty length factors into your decision.
Silverton XL vs. Traeger’s retail lineup
| Grill | Cook space | Warranty | Where sold |
|---|---|---|---|
| Silverton XL | 854 sq in (Costco) / 885 sq in (Traeger) | Not stated | Costco exclusive |
| Ridgeline XL | 780 sq in | 7 years | Costco exclusive |
| Woodridge (base) | 860 sq in | 10 years | Traeger, Lowe's, Home Depot |
| Woodridge Pro | 970 sq in | 10 years | Traeger, Lowe's, Home Depot |
At either reported cook-space figure, the Silverton XL lands close to the base Woodridge’s 860 sq in — but the base Woodridge, bought through Traeger’s retail channel, comes with a clearly stated 10-year warranty for roughly the same money once Silverton XL promotions lapse. The Silverton XL’s real edge is the bundled cover and liners plus whatever Costco-specific discount or Costco Direct multi-buy promotion is running; the retail Woodridge’s edge is a warranty you don’t have to call customer service to find out about. For the full case on the retail-line naming overhaul, see our best Traeger grill guide. Costco-exclusive SKUs from other brands carry the same spec-conflict risk — our best pellet grill brands guide flags the same issue on Louisiana Grills’ Costco-only SL-series.
Who should buy the Silverton XL
- Buy it if: you’re already a Costco member, want the bundled cover/liners, and can catch it during a Costco Direct multi-buy promotion that beats retail Woodridge pricing.
- Confirm first if: warranty length matters to you — call Traeger support with model TFS81BVH before buying, since neither Costco nor Traeger states a term on the product page.
- Buy the Woodridge instead if: you want a clearly stated 10-year warranty and don’t need a Costco membership — see our best Traeger grill guide.
- Buy the Ridgeline XL instead if: you want a Costco-exclusive Traeger with an actually published warranty (7 years) at a lower price point — see our pellet grill at Costco guide.
- Skip it if: you’re price-comparing on cook space alone — the fact that the two retailers can’t agree on the number makes it a poor anchor for a spec-for-spec decision.
The verdict
The Traeger Silverton XL isn’t a bad grill — WiFIRE control, Super Smoke Mode, and a 20 lb hopper are genuinely current Traeger hardware, not a watered-down warehouse special. But it’s a case study in why Costco-exclusive SKUs need their own scrutiny: Costco’s and Traeger’s own listings for the identical model disagree on cook space by 31 sq in, and neither company states a warranty term anywhere a shopper can actually find it. Buy it for the bundled accessories and whatever promotion is running, but plan around Costco’s more-corroborated 854 sq in figure and get the warranty term in writing from Traeger support before you commit. For a Costco-exclusive Traeger that does state its warranty clearly, see our pellet grill at Costco guide; for the full current retail lineup, see our best Traeger grill rankings.
Last updated: October 22, 2026 — first published with cook-space and pricing figures cross-checked directly against Costco’s own product listings (items 1741525 and 2014731), Traeger’s own Silverton XL product page, and an independent Costco warehouse-price tracker.